The project

Project

Like many ethnological museums, the Linden ­Museum is undergoing a process of transformation. In an increasingly diverse society, we must renegotiate the role and relevance of ethnological museums. The support provided through the Initiative for Ethnological Collections enables us to experimentally develop the basis for a new orientation. Following the principle of the laboratory, we develop and test new forms of museum knowledge production, mediation, and presentation in eight LindenLabs.

Selected collections and objects help us to address different aspects of social inequality and the effects of (post-)colonial structures in museums. Some of the labs work on questions using a regional example, others focus on the work behind the scenes. All labs deal with overarching themes: practices of ethnographic collecting, colonial structures and their aftermath in the present, the distribution of authority for interpretation in museums, and the role of ethnological museums today. For this purpose, we combine participatory formats with research on the origin of the collections in order to reveal and reflect on their entanglements. In this way, an innovative and experimental space is created in the museum, which ­enables an ­intensive exchange with actors — representatives of the source ­communities, members of the diverse urban society of Stuttgart, scientists, artists and designers. Together we question existing structures from within and create multivoiced presentations. This experimental and procedural approach also means that any conclusions reached can change over the course of the project, as we repeatedly review and advance what we have learnt and experienced. The process and results will be presented twice a year in the lab from spring 2020 onwards and will also be documented on the project blog at www.lindenlab.de. Ultimately, the results will also be in corporated into new permanent exhibitions. They form the basis for the new museum concept in a future new building.

German Federal Cultural Foundation
The German Federal Cultural Foundation is one of the largest publicly funded cultural foundations in Europe. Its main prio­rity is to support innovative programmes and projects on an international level. The foundation also invests in projects which develop new methods of fostering cultural heritage and tap into the cultural and artistic potential of knowledge required for addressing social issues.

Die Initiative für Ethnologische Initiative for Ethnological Collections
In recent years, the Federal Cultural Foundation has already launched a number of programmes and initiatives that support processes of change, such as a contemporary and global orientation of museum collections. In addition to the Linden-Museum Stuttgart, the Hamburg MARKK — Museum am Rothenbaum, Kulturen und Künste der Welt, and the GRASSI Museum für Völkerkunde zu Leipzig are involved in the initiative for Ethnological Collections. In the future, all three museums will pursue new paths in coopera­tion with source communities, in experimenting with new forms of museum presentations, in opening up to local urban societies, and in provenance research. As part of these initiative, the three ethnological museums each receive one million euros over a period of up to four years.

X

Das Projekt

Projekt

Das Linden-Museum befindet sich, wie viele ethnologische Museen, im Wandel. In einer zunehmend von Diversität gezeichneten Gesellschaft müssen wir die gesellschaftliche Rolle und Relevanz ethnologischer Museen neu verhandeln. Die Förderung im Rahmen der Initiative für Ethnologische Sammlungen macht es uns möglich, die Grundlage für eine Neuausrichtung experimentell zu erarbeiten. Das Arbeitsprinzip des Labors aufgreifend, entwickeln und erproben wir in acht LindenLabs neue Formen musealer Wissensproduktion, Vermittlung und Präsentation.

Ausgewählte Sammlungen und Objekte helfen uns dabei, Aspekte gesellschaftlicher Ungleichheit und das Wirken (post-)kolonialer Strukturen im Museum zu thematisieren. Einige der Labs bearbeiten Fragestellungen mithilfe eines regionalen Beispiels, andere legen den Fokus auf die Arbeit hinter den Kulissen. Alle Labs setzen sich mit übergreifenden Themen auseinander: Praktiken ethnografischen Sammelns, kolonialzeitliche Strukturen und ihre Nachwirkungen in der Gegenwart, die Verteilung von Deutungshoheit im musealen Betrieb, die Rolle ethnologischer Museen heute. Hierzu verbinden wir partizipative Formate mit Forschung zur Herkunft der Sammlungen, um Verflechtungen offenzulegen, zu thematisieren und zu reflektieren. Im Museum entsteht so ein innovativer und experimenteller Raum, der einen intensiven Austausch mit Akteur*innen – Vertreter*innen der Herkunftsgesellschaften, Angehörige der diversen Stuttgarter Stadtgesellschaft, Wissenschaftler*innen, Künstler*innen und Gestalter*innen — ermöglicht. Gemeinsam hinterfragen wir bestehende Strukturen von innen heraus und erschaffen vielstimmige Präsentationen. Der Experiment- und Prozesscharakter bedeutet auch, dass sich die gezeigten Maßnahmen im Lauf des Projekts verändern können, da wir das Gelernte und Erlebte immer wieder aufgreifen und weiterentwickeln. Prozess und Ergebnisse werden ab Frühjahr 2020 zweimal jährlich im Lab präsentiert und auf dem Projektblog www.lindenlab.de ergänzend dokumentiert. Darüber hinaus werden die Ergebnisse schließlich in neue Dauerausstellungen einfließen. Sie bilden die Grundlage für die Neukonzeption des Museums in einem zukünftigen Neubau.

Die Kulturstiftung des Bundes
Die Kulturstiftung des Bundes ist eine der größten öffentlich geförderten Kulturstiftungen Europas. Ihre Hauptaufgabe ist es, innovative Programme und Projekte im internationalen Kontext zu unterstützen. Sie erschließt zudem künstlerische und interdisziplinäre Wissenspotenziale für die Diskussion gesellschaftlicher Fragen.

Die Initiative für Ethnologische Sammlungen
Die Kulturstiftung des Bundes hat in den vergangenen Jahren bereits eine Reihe von Programmen und Initiativen auf den Weg gebracht, die Veränderungsprozesse wie eine zeitgemäße und globale Ausrichtung von Museumssammlungen unterstützen. An der Initiative für Ethnologische Sammlungen sind neben dem Linden-Museum Stuttgart das Hamburger MARKK — Museum am Rothenbaum, Kulturen und Künste der Welt und das GRASSI Museum für Völkerkunde zu Leipzig beteiligt. Alle drei Museen werden künftig neue Wege in der Kooperation mit den Herkunftsgesellschaften von Objekten, bei der Erprobung neuer Formen musealer Präsentation, bei öffnung gegenüber lokalen Stadtgesellschaften sowie in der Provenienzforschung gehen. Im Rahmen der Initiative erhalten die drei ethnologischen Museen jeweils eine Million Euro über einen Zeitraum von bis zu vier Jahren.

X