Michiel Riedijk

28.07.2020 | Conference

2: Museum Architecture

Impulse Lecture by Michiel Riedijk

New Museums: In Search for an Expression

Share:

The second section focused on the role of architecture of and for museums. What possibilities does a new building offer for the work of museums? What is its relationship to the city and its inhabitants? Using examples and ideas from various fields of architectural practice, the contributors opened up perspectives on these issues.

Michiel Riedijk studied architecture at the Technical University in Delft. In 1992, he established the Rotterdam based office Neutelings Riedijk Architects with Willem Jan Neutelings. Since 2007, he is also Professor of Public Building at the Faculty of Architecture and the Built Environment at the Technical University Delft. Some of their exemplar works are the Naturalis Biodiversity Center in Leiden, MAS Museum in Antwerp, the Institute for Sound and Vision in Hilversum, and the Culture House ‘Rozet’ in Arnhem. Currently the office is working on several projects such as the Gare Maritime in Brussels, the Amsterdam Museum and the ZIL-factory towers in Moscow. In 2017, Michiel Riedijk received the RIBA International Fellowship.

Riedijk began his lecture with a short introduction to the general importance and design of urban identities in history and the permanent changes they underwent through architecture. How can the content of buildings be presented? How can architecture be an expression of both mindsets and ideas? He argued that globalisation makes many people feel insecure and makes them search for identity more. Identity is not something fixed, but fluid and must be redefined again and again through collective experiences.

Author:
Henrike Hoffmann

X

Michiel Riedijk

28.07.2020 | Konferenz

2: Museumsarchitektur

Impulsvortrag von Michiel Riedijk

Neue Museen: Auf der Suche nach einem Ausdruck

Teilen:

Der zweite Themenblock der Konferenz „Das neue Museum“ nahm die Rolle der Architektur von und für Museen in den Blick. Welche Möglichkeiten bietet ein Neubau für die Museumsarbeit? In welchem Verhältnis steht er zur Stadt und ihren Bewohner*innen? Anhand von Beispielen und Ideen aus verschiedenen Praxisfeldern der Architektur eröffneten die Beitragenden Perspektiven darauf.

Michiel Riedijk studierte Architektur an der Technischen Universität in Delft. Im Jahr 1992 gründete er zusammen mit Willem Jan Neutelings das Rotterdamer Büro Neutelings Riedijk Architects. Seit 2007 ist er außerdem Professor für öffentliches Bauen an der Fakultät für Architektur und Baukunde der Technischen Universität Delft. Einige ihrer beispielhaften Arbeiten sind das Biodiversitätszentrum Naturalis in Leiden, das MAS-Museum in Antwerpen, das Institut für Ton und Bild in Hilversum und das Kulturzentrum ‚Rozet‘ in Arnheim. Derzeit arbeitet das Büro an mehreren Projekten wie dem Gare Maritime in Brüssel, dem Amsterdam Museum und den ZIL-Fabriktürmen in Moskau. Im Jahr 2017 erhielt Michiel Riedijk das RIBA International Fellowship.

Seinen Vortrag begann Riedijk mit einer kurzen Einführung in die allgemeine Bedeutung und die Gestaltung von Stadtidentitäten in der Geschichte und deren permanente Veränderung, die sie durch die Architektur erhielten. Wie soll der Inhalt von Gebäuden präsentiert werden? Wie kann Architektur ein Ausdruck für Haltungen und Ideen sein? Er argumentierte, dass Globalisierung viele Menschen verunsichere und mehr nach Identität suchen lasse. Dabei sei Identität nichts festes, sondern fluide und müsse immer wieder neu durch kollektive Erfahrungen definiert werden.


Autorin:
Henrike Hoffmann

X