Dr. Aimé Kantoussan

Beitrag ansehen

07.09.2020 | Conference

1: Museum Concepts

Keynote Lecture by Dr. Aimé Kantoussan

Museum of
Black Civilizations:
Time is Running Out

Share:

The first section of the conference was devoted to the conceptual work of (ethnological) museums whose origins are closely linked to European colonialism. To this day, they are still regarded as exhibition sites of the culturally “foreign”, of the “other”. In a society increasingly marked by diversity, this (self-)understanding must be overcome and the social role and relevance of ethnological museums must be renegotiated.

Dr. Aimé Kantoussan is the Director of Research at the Museum of Black Civilizations in Dakar, Senegal. Archaeologist and historian, he is interested in the development of structuring infrastructures and the safeguarding and enhancement of heritage, in a context of frantic development of the African territory.

In his lecture he spoke about the development of the Museum of Black Civilizations: The idea of the museum dates back to 1972 and the then President of the Senegalese Republic, Léopold Sédar Senghor. It corresponds to the ideological roots of Négritude, a 20th century movement, both political and philosophical, which advocated the cultural self-assertion of the African population. Due to political changes, the project was initially abandoned in 1980. It was not until the 2000s that it was taken up again, conceptually revised and a museum profile was established that clearly set itself apart from existing museum concepts.

The lecture can be downloaded as PDF here.

Author:
Henrike Hoffmann

X

Dr. Aimé Kantoussan

28.07.2020 | Konferenz

1: Museumskonzepte

Impulsvortrag von Dr. Aimé Kantoussan

Museum of
Black Civilizations:
Time is Running Out

Teilen:

Der erste Themenblock der Tagung widmete sich der konzeptionellen Arbeit (ethnologischer) Museen, deren Entstehungsgeschichte eng mit dem europäischen Kolonialismus verknüpft ist. Bis heute gelten sie als Ausstellungsorte des kulturell „Fremden“, des „Anderen“. In einer zunehmend diversen Gesellschaft  gilt es dieses (Selbst-)Verständnis zu überwinden uns die gesellschaftliche Rolle und Relevanz ethnologischer Museen neu zu verhandeln.

Dr. Aimé Kantoussan ist derzeit Direktor für Forschung am Museum für Schwarze Zivilisationen in Dakar, Senegal. Als Archäologe und Historiker interessiert er sich für Fragen im Zusammenhang mit der Entwicklung von strukturbildenden Infrastrukturen, insbesondere von Straßen in Westafrika, sowie für den Schutz und die Aufwertung des Kulturerbes im Allgemeinen vor dem Hintergrund einer rasanten Entwicklung des afrikanischen Territoriums.

In seinem Vortrag sprach er über die Entwicklung des Museums der schwarzen Zivilisationen: Die Idee des Museums geht auf das Jahr 1972 und den damaligen Präsident der senegalesischen Republik, Léopold Sédar Senghor, zurück. Sie entspricht den ideologischen Wurzeln der Négritude, einer sowohl politischen als auch philosophischen Bewergung des 20. Jahrhunderts, die für die kulturelle Selbstbehauptung der afrikanischen Bevölkerung eintrat. Aufgrund politischer Veränderungen wurde das Projekt 1980 zunächst aufgegeben. Erst in den 2000ern wurde es wieder aufgenommen, konzeptionell überarbeitet und ein Museumsprofil festgelegt, das sich von bereits existierenden Museumskonzepten deutlich abgrenzt.

Der Vortrag in englischer Sprache kann hier als PDF heruntergeladen werden.

Autorin:
Henrike Hoffmann

X